Turkey: Another BRIC in the Wall?

BRICS is reviewing the request made by different nations seeking a membership from BRICS.

BRICS was founded by Brazil, Russia, China and India and 2006 and it was in 2010 that South Africa became a part of the BRICS.

The name was then modified from being ‘BRIC’ to “BRICS.’

Besides Turkey, Argentina, Afghanistan, Mexico, Lebanon and Indonesia have shown great interest in being full-time members of the BRICS.

A long list of other nations to have expressed their desires to be a part of the group.

In 2015 BRICS nations represented over 3.1 billion people which makes up about 41% of the global population.

Four out of the 5 BRICS nations are among the 10 most populated nations of the world.